history.gif (4565 bytes)


The Spicer Lions Club, spearheaded by Sig Simpson, was first organized in 1965 with Paul Bengston as its first president. Charter members at that time included Gary Halvorson, Dutch Doty, Wayne Orred, Albert Pederson, Sig Simpson, Hilmer Vegdahl, Stan Block, Glen Farmer, Bert Jacobson, Henry deCathelineau, Arnold Gronli, Eldon Wiedeman, and Paul Bengston. They were active for 12 or 13 years; then the organization died out.

In 1980 the Lions reorganized, with the Willmar Noon Lions sponsoring them. Charter members were the following: Paul Bengston, Jim Biesecker, Max Cincinnatus, Wayne Davidson, Charles deCathelineau, Don Ditmarson, Dutch Doty, Todd Erickson, Dennis Gray, Arnold Gronli, Cliff Hammerschmidt, Marv Hawkinson, Mike Hokeness, Howard Jensen, Bill Jensen, Gordon Johnson, Robert Johnson, Pat Laib, Steve Larson, Erling

Lundeen, Mike McFadden, James Nichols, Ed Olson, Pat O'Neal, Dean Onstad, Randy Onstad, Bruce Peters, Orestes Qualey, Ed Rauk, Dennis Raymond, Guy Saulsbury, Pat Saulsbury, John Scheevel, Philip Scheevel, Curt Shuck, Gayle Sorby, Gordon Steiner, Allen Struck, Harold Thornburg, Marlin Torguson, Hilmer Vegdahl, and Eldon Wiedeman.

They are a busy and active club supporting all the Lions' projects. Taking part in the Foreign Youth Exchange, they host a dinner for all Foreign Exchange students in District 5M4. The Lions have several fund raisers, some of which are an annual fish fry, lunch stand at the Spring Opener and Fourth of July celebrations, and a light bulb sale. Proceeds of these go for community projects as well as toward repairing, shingling, and painting their shelter in the city park; they also put new picnic tables in the park. The Lions also give two $250 scholarships to two seniors to further their education.

In April 1985 the Spicer Lions sponsored the Spicer Lioness Club with 19 charter members: Margaret Anderson, Alice Asche, Bernice Blomgren, Mary Beth Bloomquist, Liz Eliason, Karen Erickson, Ardyce Hegstrom, Karen Holst, Norma Knutson, Clydee Johnson, Julie Knutson, Dorothy Lindblad, Holly Mossberg, Claris Peters, Dorothy Peterson, Frances Qualey, Marie Schute, Carol Shuck, and Melvern Taylor. Their projects are to support those of the Lions and to have some of their own, like serving birthday parties at the Green Lake Manor, visiting shut-ins, helping individuals with medical bills, and donating to the Dethlef Senior Center. When the national Lions Club voted to accept women into their membership, the Lioness group disbanded and joined the local Lions Club.

The Spicer Sunrise Club was honored when one of their members, Bill Taylor, was elected District Governor for 1986-87. He was also selected as a Melvin Jones Fellow in recognition of exemplary humanitarian service and commitment to Lions Club ideals. Allen Struck was named trustee of the Lions Hearing Foundation in 1990.

In 1990 the club was 10 years old and had 42 members.