boardminutes.gif (7755 bytes)

SATURDAY, 18 MAY 2013 - 8:00 A. M.

The Regular Monthly meeting for May 2013 was called to order by President J. Duininck.

Members present: J. Duininck., G. Holmstrom, T. Johnson, T. Lange, V. Sechler, B. Schemel, R. Schneider, and T. Frazee.

Members who called in saying they would not be able to attend: D. Gunderson.

Members Absent: B. Aamot, and S. Linder.

One guest was present for the meeting, Margaret Peeters Johnson. The agenda for the May meeting was approved by motion of R. Schneider, second by B. Schemel. Motion carried.

The minutes of the regular April meeting on the 27th was approved by motion of V. Sechler, seconded by B. Schemel. Motion carried.

T. Frazee explained the financial statement for May 2013.

Motion by T. Johnson, seconded by G. Holmstrom to approve the financial report as present. Motion carried.

An Audit Committee of D. Gunderson, Bruce Halgren, and Ralph Jansen was approved for the end of the fiscal year. Carried.



Discussion was held about the Minnesota Legislature, H. F. 1183. The Lessards Division, on the House Legacy side has $375,000 for the first year with $7.2 million for the second year for A.I.S. Treatment. There are no matching funds needed for this program.

The Senate side does not have monies for A.I.S. program.  Both the House and Senate are working in conference committee to see if appropriations will be forthcoming.  The Green Lake Property Owners Association has been working with both sides of the house for potential monies for A.I.S. The session ends on Monday, 20 May at midnight.

J. Duininck, R. Schneider, and T. Frazee have continued to meet in St. Paul with our Senator and Representative.





Margaret (Peeters) Johnson presented to the Green Lake Board information of their study of Water Quality within the Lake Water Clarity in Green Lake increased form an average of 12.2 feet in 2011 to 14.8 feet in 2012. On average, secchi disk values have increased over the past seven years indicating a trend towards clearer water.

Ms. Johnson presented information to the Green Lake Board about two programs which they are working on for the summer of 2012. One being in Skyline Drive Estates (BMP) to provide for treatment to large contributing area from road water running into Green Lake.

Ms. Johnson presented another BMP program in Irving Township to assist in any street waters running directly into Green Lake rather than a pretreatment for the sediment.

Motion by J. Duininck, seconded by T. Johnson to donate $3,000.00 to the Skyline Drive project and $572.00 for the Irving Township BMP. Motion carried.

T. Frazee represented Rolf Figenskau to discuss an increase donation to the Spicer Commercial Club for Fireworks during the 4th of July and for the winter program. At the present time the GLPOA has donated $1,000.00 to the 4th of July program pus $500.00 to the winter program. Motion by J. Duininck, seconded by B. Schemel for a $1,500.00 donation for the 4th of July program. The winter program will be discussed later. Motion carried.



Discussion was held about the Annual Meeting, scheduled for Saturday, 15 June 2013, at the Green Lake Bible Camp to begin with a full breakfast at 8:15 a. m. annual meeting to start about 9:00 a. m..

T. Frazee stated the VIP"s letters will be mailed out on the 23rd of May to 47 people from around the State of Minnesota who have assisted Green Lake in the past.

Bruce Kleven has been invited to be the Main Speaker following the business meeting.

Candidates approved for three year term, by the Board of Directors, to be voted upon at the Annual Meeting:

Tom Johnson

Green Lake Township

3 year term

Bob Schemel

New London Township

3 year term

Ron Schneider

City of Spicer

3 year term

Bruce Schweitzer

New London Township

1 year term (replacement)

John Dammerman

Irving Township

3 year term

The regular meeting of the Green Lake Board of Directors scheduled for Saturday, 29 June 2013, will not be held at the Annual Meeting of the 5th of June will take its place

Board Members were asked to visit with the constituents prior to the breakfast and following the regular meeting.

Motion by G. Holmstrom, second by B. Schemel to adjourn.